Exercises to mitigate postural stressors of the job

American Police Beat Magazine feed
Forum Information
You will earn 1.5 pts. per new post (reply) in this forum.

**Registered members may reply to any topic in this forum**

Topic Author
NHGF [Feed]

FeedBot

Posting Badges

Post by NHGF [Feed] » Tue Nov 30, 2021 3:41 pm

iStock.com/fizkes Let me start off with the standard CYA disclaimer. I’m a certified strength coach and cop, not a doctor or physical therapist. Be sure to consult with your doctor or PT before doing anything discussed here. It’s no secret a career in law enforcement wreaks havoc on an officer’s body. High-stress environments, late nights and poor dietary decisions are just some of the factors contributing to our unhealthy existence. What’s often overlooked is the stress our uniforms, equipment and job requirements place on the body. These stressors often lead to knee, hip, back and neck issues if not properly addressed. When not addressed, we see increases in sick time, injured-in-the-line-of-duty statuses and early retirements. This just further exacerbates staffing shortages and keeps morale in the toilet. Just like I ask in most of my articles, what’s being done about it? Same answer: Nothing. The “adapt and overcome” profession has failed to do so, yet again.  Inherently, being a police officer might be the most impractical job on the planet for a million reasons. At the top of the list is our ridiculously outdated uniforms. For a job that requires physically fighting for your life, pushing cars in the snow, crawling on the ground, kicking doors and sprinting from a seated position, why in the hell are we dressed in polyester pants and shirts with shin-high boots? Let’s not forget all the shiny and important shit we have pinned to ourselves.  Instead, officers should be wearing athletic sneakers, comfortable/breathable pants and a realistic shirt that allows for proper mobility and safety. At this stage in the game, it’s widely documented ho